We're reaching out to Bessemer, Birmingham, & beyond!

06/12/12 – “The Chronological Method of Studying the Bible” III – Stages 8 through 10




Tuesday in the Truth

June 12, 2012


The Chronological Method of Studying the Bible III

(Stages 8 through 10)

  1. The significance of the Word from God’s perspective
    1. Psalm 119:97-104
      1. The word of God is referenced in Psalm 119 as the law of the Lord, thy testimonies, thy ways, thy precepts, thy statues, thy commandments and judgments.
      2. Meditating on the Word daily leads to understanding and as a matter of consequence changes how you think.
  2. The word of God is designed to…
    1. Help us to be believe
      1. St. Mark 16:15-17
        1. Believing is necessary when there is no sense realm evidence.  If you can see it, you don’t need to believe for it.
        2. All the promises of faith come without sense realm verification, therefore, believing is necessary.
        3. God ONLY confirms (hastens to perform) His word.  (Scripture reference – Jeremiah 1:12)
        4. The more you immerse yourself in the Word the more successful you will become in believing.
        5. Faith consists of a twofold action: to believe then confess.
        6. The word of God helps us to look into the things not seen (perceived by the senses).  (Scripture reference – II Corinthians 4:13-18)
        7. The Bible sharpens our belief system.  You cannot believe God without the word of God (the Bible).
  3. There are 12 periods or stages that comprise the Bible.  Nine of the stages are in the Old Testament and three stages are in the New Testament.
    1. Stages 1-7
      1. 1-Creation, 2-Patriarchal, 3-Exodus, 4-Conquest, 5-Judges, 6-United Kingdom, 7-Chaotic Kingdom
    2. The Captivity Stage
      1. Period: 605 – 400 BC
      2. Events:  the personal deliverance of Daniel and his friends (Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego), the destruction of Israel’s first temple (Solomon’s temple), a description of a future temple (the millennium kingdom), references to Gentile (non-Jewish) world leaders, a preview of Israel’s future, and the fall of Babylon
      3. Books: Daniel and Ezekiel
      4. Main Characters: Daniel, Nebuchadnezzar, Shadrach, Meshach, Abednego, Belshazzar
    3. The Return Stage
      1. Period:
      2. Events:  the decree of Cyrus, the construction of the second temple, the rebuilding of the walls of Jerusalem, and the deliverance of the Jews in Persia
      3. Books: Ezra, Esther, Nehemiah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi
      4. Main Characters: Cyrus, Joshua, Zerubbabel, Ezra, Esther, Mordecai, Haman, Sanballat,
    4. The Gospel Stage
      1. Period: 5 BC – AD 30
      2. Events: the birth of Jesus, Jesus in Egypt, Jesus’ temptations, the choosing of the 12 disciples, the upper room event, the trials and death of Jesus, Jesus’ dedication, Jesus temple visit at age 12, His introduction as the Lamb of God, His transfiguration, Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, the transfiguration, His resurrection, the visit of the wise men, His baptism, the first cleansing of the temple, His triumphant entry into Jerusalem, and His great priestly prayer and ascension
      3. Books: Matthew (depicts Jesus as King), Mark (depicts Jesus as a servant,) Luke (depicts Jesus as the perfect man) and John (depicts Jesus as the mighty God)
      4. Main Characters: the 12 apostles, Mary and Joseph, Mary and Martha, Pilate and Herod, John the Baptist, Nicodemus, Lazarus, Mary Magdalene

© 2012 George Matthews Ministries