We're reaching out to Bessemer, Birmingham, & beyond!

06/20/12 – “The Chronological Method of Studying the Bible” III – Stages 8 through 10




Tuesday in the Truth

June 19, 2012


The Chronological Method of Studying the Bible IV

(Stages 11 & 12)

Wednesday in the Word

June 20, 2012

The Chronological Method of Studying the Bible III

(Stages 8 through 10)



  1. The significance of the Word from God’s perspective
    1. Psalm 119:104-108
      1. The word of God is referenced in Psalm 119 as the law of the Lord, thy testimonies, thy ways, thy precepts, thy statues, thy commandments and judgments.
      2. The word of God is vital to your success as a believer.
      3. The word of God contains the wisdom of God.
      4. It’s impossible to have faith in God without a word from God.  (Scripture references – St. Mark 11:22; Romans 10:17)
      5. We understand God through faith.  (Scripture reference – Hebrews 11:3)
      6. To increase your faith, you must intentionally increase your hearing of the word of God.
    2. Romans 12:1-2 [Emphasis verse 2]
      1. Studying the word of God should be our life-long ambition.
      2. Bible study teaches us how to deny the flesh in all areas of life.
      3. The Bible is the device by which we are able to renew our minds by the word of God.
    3. Isaiah 55:6-9
      1. To have Kingdom results, you must change the way you think.
      2. God has given us the Bible and our understanding of it to align our thoughts with His.
  2. The word of God assist the believer in believing
    1. The word of God produces faith and increases your capacity to believe.
      1. St. Matthew 22:29
        1. The word of God is the power of God.
        2. Every believer will have mountains to overcome.  Faith is the power to move those mountains.
      2. St. Mark 16:15-16
        1. Believing is necessary when there is no sense realm evidence.
    2. Believing is the act of your will
      1. Isaiah 1:19-20
        1. The human will yields, gives consent, accepts, desires; the power and control the mind has over its own actions.
        2. The will is the place where choices occur; the seat of choosing actions and responses.
  3. There are 12 periods or stages that comprise the Bible.  Nine of the stages are in the Old Testament and three stages are in the New Testament.
    1. Stages 1-10
      1. a.       1-Creation, 2-Patriarchal, 3-Exodus, 4-Conquest, 5-Judges, 6-United Kingdom, 7-Chaotic Kingdom, (8-Captivity, 9-Return, 10-Gospel  – Central Location)
    2. The Early Church Stage
      1. Period: AD 30 – AD 68
      2. Events: Pentecost, the death of Ananias and Sapphira, the selection of the deacons, the martyrdom of Steven; the conversion of the Ethiopian eunuch (Acts 8), the conversion of Saul (Acts 9); the conversion of Cornelius, the establishment of the church in Antioch, the deliverance of Peter, the 3 missionary journeys of Paul, the Jerusalem counsel, Paul’s Macedonian’s vision (Acts 16), Paul’s arrest and trip to Rome
      3. Main characters: Peter, Phillip, Steven, Paul, Barnabas, Silas, James, the brother of Jesus
    3. The Epistle Stage
      1. Period: AD 45 – AD 100
      2. Books or letters:
        1. James (45 AD); Jude (68 AD)
        2. Authored by Paul – Galatians (49 AD); I & 2 Thessalonians  (51 AD); 1& 2 Corinthians (56 AD); Romans (57 AD); Ephesians (60 AD); Colossians (61 AD); Philippians (61 AD); Philemon (62 AD);  I Timothy (62 AD); Titus (66 AD); II Timothy (67 AD); Hebrews (59 AD)
        3. Authored by Peter –  I & 2 Peter (68 AD)
        4. Authored by John – 1, 2 & 3 John (95 AD); Revelation (95 AD)

© 2012 George Matthews Ministries